A question for electricians

All of the outlets in my living room are on the same circuit. Does it make any difference, if I plug a noisy component like the TV, in a different outlet than the audio system? By putting it farther away into another outlet, is it better than plugging it into the same outlet as the audio system?
Also, my electrical outlets are 15 amp. Is this 15 amps total for each outlet on the same circuit, or 15 amps total for the circuit?
Many thanks!

1 Like

I am not an electrician, but my take, for the first question, probably not a question a normal residential electrician will have any idea about. They wire up electrical circuits, they wouldn’t typically know about the different impact of noisy devices on the circuit. Probably someone who plays with/designs electrical devices/electrical engineer would have a better idea. One would think if the noise is on the circuit, it probably wouldn’t make much difference if it was 5’ away or 15’.

On the second question, each outlet is physically rated to be safe at pulling the 15amps but its the complete circuit that has a 15amp limit. So on a 15amp circuit, you have outlets that are rated for 15amp, wire that is rated for 15amps (14/2) & a 15amp circuit breaker.

2 Likes

Is that they are 3 round pin plugs, the smaller pair of pins about 0.6 cm in diameter (from memory)? If yes then each plug can feed up to 15A in isolation. But what is the circuit fuse or breaker rating? That determines the max at any one moment on the whole circuit, including anything else connected.

I see you are from Montreal, in Canada the sockets are the same as USA, two flat blades for live & neutral, plus a round pin for ground(earth)
I’m not sure that TV’s are that ‘noisy’, but if that really is a concern I would look around for a power strip with a C&D (Common & Differential) mode filter, this should isolate some degree of noise.