A Ripping Yarn

My system consists of Neat Motive 2, Supernait 3, Chord Qutest at the back end (all fantastic) fed by Bluesound node and a recently acquired CD5 XS. I have around 2000 cd’s, they are ripped to iTunes (with match) For use on iPhone etc but do not compare to the cd or even the node. I can’t be bothered to re-rip my cd collection so questions as follows.

1. Is there anything that I can easily do to get better quality from my ripped cd collection.
  2. Will ripped quality ever be as good as direct from cd.
  3. Will streaming quality ever quite match direct from cd.
  4. Given that I love the sound from the qutest and find the bluesound interface excellent. Would I see much of an improvement from nd5xs2 or ndx2.

I am new to streaming and I am currently using Amazon music HD, Tidal ( hi-res) and apple. Not much between them but tidal seems to give best quality.

If ripping your collection is a no go, your options are just listen to your cds on your player or stream them using your tidal or amazon account.
The node plus qutest is a nice combo but I think the nd5xs2 will edge it on sq.
Depends what you want really.

To what target format did you rip? If lossless, the SQ should be as good or better than CD (assuming matching DACs). The data is the same, and you circumvent all the issues CD theoretically can have with on-time delivery of data.

Same with streaming IF the master is the same as CD and if streaming with a lossless format. Everything depends on the master

Edit: and as per elverdiblanco’s following post, if you ripped to a lossy format there is nothing you can do to recreate the missing data

What format did you rip the CDs to in iTunes?

If it is a lossy, low bit rate format they are never going to sound as good as the original CDs

The cd’s were ripped starting 20 years ago at 120 Kbps for an original iPod, Audiophile quality was never a consideration then. The iTunes Match upgrades to 256Kbps unfortunately nothing is lossless.