Another DAC?

Hello from Brussels, help needed. Although I only own digital components in my system for the time being, I am not an expert in DACs. I run a Gryphon Diablo 300 amp, a Gryphon Scorpio cd player (with 4 built in AKM converters) and a Naim NDX 2 for streaming, also having an excellent DAC in the box. So my question is, would an additional DAC from Denafrips or Chord for example in any kind improve the sound of my system further or would I just waste money? Many thanks for your advice.

Try an ND555.

1 Like

Yes, thought about it. How huge is the difference and will my XPS run with the 555 unit?

Unfortunately not. The previous model, the NDS, could use a single Burndy cable and link plug to run with an XPS, but the ND555 needs dual Burndy cables so a 555PS is needed.

Thanks for the clarification. Of course it might get a small step better with such expensive gear, but soundwise I am quite happy with the NDX2/XPS combo and the Gryphon amp. For this reason I don‘t really need a DAC. Just curious.

There have been many threads over the years discussing the use of separate DACs with Naim streamers as an alternative to a power supply upgrade. The Naim NDAC, now discontinued, and various Chord DACs, have long been popular choices, but there are plenty of other DACs out there. The only way to find out what appeals to you is to listen to some and see which you prefer.

3 Likes

Well, that‘s what I will do anyway. Just thought, some input from this knowledgeable forum might be helpful.

If you search this forum you will find so much discussion of the external DAC option that you’ll have no time to listen to music for months if you read them all. Use the search and you will find it - I’m not sure there is much point in us repeating it all here, but of course, if you have specific questions you will get answers.

1 Like