Any reason why my system takes up to 4 hours to warm up?

I have always found my system has usually taken a couple of hours to warm up before it gets on full song so to speak but lately it’s taking more like four hours.
From start up it sounds shut in and thin,brittle or too bright, as I have made upgrades it has become more noticeable.
When I added the 282 it opened up the soundstage massively and this is the thing you notice when it warms up but wondered if anyone has similar or can offer any advice on why this is happening.

1 Like

There’s an easy way round this - just leave the system powered up. I only switch my main system off when I’m going to be away from home for a few days or more.

Naim’s advice always used to be to leave everything turned on. I suspect that this advice has been tempered with electricity use and global warming in mind.

5 Likes

I am by no means an expert but I wonder how old your gear is? I only ask, as it could be that some of the capacitors which store power from mains are needing to be replaced so a service could be in order. I leave my Stereo Power Amp on standby (not Naim) but do leave my CD player (Naim CD555) constantly powered up with its dual power supplies, Naim recommended doing this. I suspect the new gear has standby options as either a requirement or choice due to E-Co reasons. I generally turn my amp on about 2/3 hrs before playback on a Sunday, if you do not want to do this, can I suggest a system warm up disc which essentially covers the dynamic range of frequencies and gets your system moving. :grinning:

1 Like

Morning Graham the system is always powered up, never switched off, so guessing it must be something else.
I’m wondering about the age of my 282 as it’s serial number seems to indicate that it’s a 2004 model but it did go back to Naim in 2022 for a service so a little confused as to the cause of the issue.

1 Like