Asset UPnP for Synology Released

Illustrate have released Asset UPnP for Synology.
I’ve been testing the beta releases for a few months & can highly recommend it.

I understand it has been accepted by Synology to be included in their package in due course.

2 Likes

Thanks for the heads up. I realise you may not be as familiar with minimserver, but as it’s quite popular in Synology land, do you have any quick pointers as to the differences?

I did use Minim with my Synology & found them very similar in operation, once installed & set up.
However I found Asset much easier to set up, its simple one package install & unlike Minim, does not require additions such as Java or MinimWatch. The only addition is an IP Address link to enable a Configuration GUI on your computer(s)
The various configuration settings although different are much the same between the brands, I do find the Asset easier, but with both its all a matter of understanding & familiarity.

Good news! Asset (on QNAP) was my first choice prior to moving to Roon, but I do have a Synology nas that serves as a music backup. I’ll get Asset on it when available.

Hi Bart, its available from Illustrate now.

1 Like

I’ve used both Asset and Mimimserver. Much prefer Asset.

Great news, installing now. I agree that it is much easier to get your head round than Minimserver, especially transcoding to wav.

I hope internet radio can get BBC high quality streams like Minimserver, initial work done by Simon on this when BBC changed was first class and way ahead of the field. May just have to run both.

The released version is working well, as it should & as did most all the previous beta’s.

How about all Asset users, QNAP as well as Synology, adding tips & hints on configuration settings & things you have found that make it easier/nicer to use.