Audio quality from ripped cd on streamer vs cd player

Hi. I just bought an XS3, CD5si, and NDX2 with some Totem Tribe Tower speakers. All of my music is on CD (mostly classical) so I wanted the CD player. But after hearing the NDX2 I couldn’t resist. I first tried the ND5XS2 streamer but I found the NDX2 far better comparing Tidal and the Internet radio so I upgraded.

I’m new to digital music. I thought if I ripped CD’s and played on the NDX2 I would hear improved sound quality vs the CD5si, but they sound the same to me. It’s not what I expected. If Naim still had different CD player models I assume I would hear improved quality on better players. I know the NDX2 is a superior source because I can hear it with various music on Tidal/internet radio and there was a huge improvement comparing the ND5XS2 and the NDX2. So I’m confused about the CD rips.

I have some 24 bit FLAC that I obtained off the internet (free legit samples) and they generally sound better than a CD source. I tried various CDs of varying quality and it always sounds the same on the two players. Can anyone explain this? My dealer said I could rip a CD and it would sound better on the streamer but I haven’t found that.

Tidal is great but the CD selection is extremely limited. I buy my CD’s on Arkiv Music. My strategy to rip and play on the streamer doesn’t seem like it will give the best quality. In some cases I’ll have no choice just because of Arkiv’s large selection. So should I prefer 24-bit FLAC recordings from a site such as HD tracks whenever possible?

And I love my system. It is amazing!

If you have a CD5si and an NDX2 connected too the NAIT XS3 at the same time, make sure that the NDX2 signal ground is set to floating. That will avoid two signal grounds which can result in a lowering and levelling of performance between the CD player and streamer.