Back to passive speakers!

I have been using active Audiovector sr6 for more than 20 years, and have always been convinced that there is no way back from running active speakers to passive speakers. As I wrote in another thread, I unfortunately found a fantastic deal on a set of Audiovector r8 at about half the regular price. Normally r8 would be llong out of my budget and not something I would spend time thinking about. But with a good deal on a demo set of speakers, things have changed. So today my dealer will meet up with the r8, and I will most likely be back in the passive speaker camp at the end of the day with an even more speaker driven system. Doing a good long comparison is almost impossible for many reasons, so it is take it or leave it more or less. Having heard both the r8 and especially the r11, I really look forward to the change. The r11 in a top Naim system is the best sound I have ever heard! Much better than the somewhat disappointing statement focal demo at Naim a few years back. The nice thing is that several reviewers claim that the r8 actually sound as good as or some think maybe better than the r11, unless you have a huge listening room!

I really hate to write this, Claus. Three months ago I ran into a pair of SR 6 Avantgarde Arreté in mint condition at 40% of the listed price. I was very very tempted and spent some time on it.
I am happy to report that I resisted and passed. I would like to believe that I am recovering from my compulsive purchasing light disorder (kidding) but I know deep inside that this is not real.
Congratulations and good luck with the wonderful R8s. I just hope that there are not too much of a speaker for you room.