Base under amplifer

Hi guys, right now under my Nait 5si I’ve placed an Ikea bamboo chopping board, mostly for an aesthetic reason, wanting to make the little guy a little taller. The amp is placed on a living room piece of furniture that I filled and made deaf. I was wondering what I could put in place of the cutting board? Something more specific like Quadraspire Evo or Advanced feet? Thank you

I’m no expert but I recall a discussion about a thick glass shelf with cup and ball, similar to a Fraim set up, being used with some success as a base.

There are plenty of isolation platforms on the market.

You will find plenty if you put that in a search engine.

DG…

Certain. A few days after taking the Nait I had an Isoacustics ZaZen1 which however I sold. So there are many bases on the market but I was asking for info from direct experience.

I’ve tried a couple of things over the years Mission Isoplat and Fraim glass and balls.
They all make differences but I decided to leave it on the shelf for consistency.
Some do this and some do that just enjoy in the ears and not in the head. :thinking: :+1:t2:

2 Likes

Bamboo composite can be remarkably effective so make any alternatives earn their place. One thing to try is three dome nuts (or ball bearings on ordinary nuts, otherwise known as ball nutters) under the board, no guarantees but cheap to try.

1 Like

I have an IKEA bamboo chopping board under my LP12. I took it away for a week and it’s back. Put some silicone sticky feet under it and keep it. As a tweak averse person (TAP), I surprised myself when I put it back. :wink:

1 Like

My turntable is made of solid bamboo ply and has solid cone feet on Fraim chips on a Fraim lite shelf. I changed the Fram chips for some Herbies Fat Grounding Bases expecting an improvement from increased isolation, what I got was decreased dynamics and poorer timing, the Fraim chips went back in place pretty quickly.

4 Likes

2 Likes