Best connection from streamer to dac

A total newbie to this and was wanting to upgrade the dac on by Bluesound node 2.
Was thinking about a Chord Qutest as that fits the budget.
My question is what’s the best way to hook them up….optical, BNC or USB I think that connection is….

I believe the Node 2 has Coaxial RCA and TOSLINK digital optical digital outputs.

I think the Coaxial RCA to Chord DAC will give you the best sound quality. You can get cables for RCA to BNC (for the Chord input)

Should be a big upgrade on sound. Be interested to know how you get on. Good luck.

3 Likes

I think the accepted wisdom is to use the COAX OUT from Node into BNC IN on the Qutest. Chord and Black Rhodium do RCA digital to BNC cables.

1 Like

I suggest a Naim nDac instead.

2 Likes

Agree. It’s a question of getting hold of one!

2 Likes

I don’t think the bare nDAC would take the Qutest. It would open the possibility if an extra PSU which obviously lifts the nDAC. That said with the Qutest you can add an M-Scaler.

In either case I would think that changing the Bluesound would be required.

Rather than a Qutest have you considered a Mojo? Especially a 2nd hand Mojo 1 if the readies are tight.

How are you feeding the Bluesound?

1 Like

Naim nDac is much more musical than the
Chord Qutest and Mojo,I think.

3 Likes

By Bluetooth….I tried the Ethernet connection but as it’s all miles away from the incoming router have to use a the earth wire thingy which interferes with the phono so no good.

I’ve owned and like both. Hate to try and pick without a direct back to back comparison.

Is that aptX BT?

Have you tried Roon?

Not tried Roon…not sure what aptX BT is……
Correction…not Bluetooth but wi if connected to the node….
Used to be hard wired with the earth thingy but so much interference on the phono that could not play any vinyl so it had to go….

Earth thingy?

AptX is a version of BT that allows you to stream at up to 44.1/16.