Best way to connect Atom and Core?

Here’s a bone simple question. I am new to streaming audio, and have just got an Atom. (My first Naim product. It works wonderfully on my wifi network, and is also used with a CD player. I like the simplicity, ease of use and quality. I am thinking of getting a Core that would sooner or later replace the CD player. Now my router is in the kitchen and the atom is in the living room. So if I bought a core, should it be beside the router and connected to it by ethernet cable and to the atom by wifi, or should it be near the atom and connected by S/PDIF? Do both schemes work? And if so are there advantages to one over the other?

Hi, you can connect the Core to your Atom via SPDIF if you want, but it still needs an Ethernet connection to work, and will find the Atom over your network, so there’s no real need for the extra SPDIF cable.

I went backwards and forwards between eithernet and spdif for some time with the core and felt the spdif won by a small margin until I revised my internet switch and cabling…then the eithernet matched it

1 Like

Thanks. My confusion comes from some of the diagrams I have seen in the Naim data and some other reviews, which indicates that the Core can be hooked up in a ‘stand alone’ configuration – just connected to a DAC + amplifier, but then I suppose it is simply a source only. When connected via ethernet to the router, what extra functionality does it have? Can find metadata or cover art, and attache it to the audio files? That would be nice!

Looks like I will need to find a suitable place for the router and Core to co-habit comfortably.

Yes that’s what it does when you rip a CD. It doesn’t need to be near the router but you need an ethernet cable from wherever it is back to the router.

Best

David

Best