Bluetooth hearing aids and sound quality

I’ve been wearing bilateral BTE aids for many years, and the ‘music’ setting seems to work pretty well with the equipment combination I currently have (SN3, ND5 XS2, Arkaydis floorstanders from back then when they were good). Recently domestic circumstances have evolved somewhat, and it would be really useful to be able to use Bluetooth hearing aids instead of routing through the speakers.
I would value advice on the best path to follow, initially on what make/model of hearing aid people would recommend.
I would also be happy to use headphones, but I fear that BTE aids and over-ear phones would not work due to feedback problems. Has anyone had success with this possible combination?
And just to highlight the extent of my ignorance, is it possible to isolate the speakers and just use Bluetooth? I assume that plugging headphones into the amp would automatically switch off the speaker output.
Thank you in advance for any comments.

Much recent discussion of hearing aids here, you might find info or like-minded people :slight_smile:

Suedkiez, thank you. Just what I needed.

1 Like

I’ve got BTE Hearing aids and use them with over the ear headphones. You have to be careful how you wear them otherwise I get feedback.
I’ve got Widex ones from Specsavers and had them for 4 years. Recently I’ve found my system doesn’t sound as good, even though on my recent audiology checkup said my hearing hadn’t changed.
I’ve read in several places that the life of hearing aids is 4-5 years, so wondering if the hearing aids are the cause of my problems.
As said above you are looking at a considerable cost to replace them.

@markn

I started the ‘Supernova’ thread & if you have read it you will realise that I have very limited experience of hearing aid use so far & there are many others on these forums better qualified to answer your queries.

That being said, here is what I have found so far with my Phonak Paradise 90R aids.