British speakers, house sound?

In a few weeks I will be heading to a dealer to demo a few different British speakers, that are all used. I have been using mostly Dynaudio for the last 7 or 8 years, but also owned Focal Sopra 1’s, Taksim Reference 3A’s, Neat Iota’s in the same time frame. Being born in England, yet moving to Canada at age 9, I am always drawn to anything British made, which is what brought me to Naim. I always hear about the British sound, regarding speakers, but have never heard any of the top British brands in person. Here is a list of the speakers I want to demo.
Kudos Super 10
Harbeth compact 7ES-3
Proac Tablette 10 signatures
Spendor S3/5R2
Audio note AN-J SPE
Can anyone give me any advice about this group of speakers, which would better suit lower volume listening (apartment),I mainly listen to Jazz, blues, classical, with rock mixed in now and then, but I am really enjoying exploring the first three genres I mention, since I grew up strictly listening to rock music, but lately getting a little bored with it.i just want to maybe narrow it down a bit, the room is 13.5 x15.5 feet, and I have no problem with the speakers being away from the walls.I want a warm engaging speaker, that will make me forget about upgrading for good, ha ha, not so easy. Right now I am running Dyn’s direct off a Chord TT2, but also have Cary Audio and Anthem gear.

Nothing beats actually listening to them all yourself, we could go on for hours discussing speakers but its ultimately your ears which will decide which speakers suit you. My thoughts when you mentioned warm and engaging was immediately Spendor and there they are on your list.

As for best at low levels, I find high efficiency speakers which are easy to drive are best at low volumes.

Go, have a long listen and enjoy :slight_smile:

2 Likes