Core, Melco or Innuos Zenith

I am considering to buy an ‘audiophile’ NAS to replace my ‘IT’ NAS (Synology) to serve music
files to my NDS. Potential candidates are Naim Core, Melco N1Z EX or Innous Zenith MK3.
I am not experienced with any of them. Which one to choose ? I would use it just for local streaming.( no Roon no Tidal etc.) Highest priority SQ and second is the convenience.
Does it make sense to change IT nas for these soundwise ?
Any posts welcomed.

1 Like

Hi Zoltan,
I would discount the Core first, as it is one of very few products where Naim missed the mark when they specified it in the early design. It is bettered in every respect by the best alternatives.

If you had wanted internet streaming etc. then the Zenith takes some beating.

However, as you only want to stream locally stored files, I recommend going Melco - it really is very hard to beat. And yes, I have auditioned all of them.

Hope this helps, BF

I sat in on a friends listening sessions when he was thinking the same.
Core was not in the consideration, Melco, Zeneth & other similar ripper store things who’s names I don’t recall.
Convenience was one consideration for his wife’s use, but he was more than happy ripping with PC & laptop using dBpoweramp, he’s been ripping to NAS for the last 6 or 7 years, so for himself he was only looking for better SQ.
All the rip/store machines did a good job, but with no perceptible change in SQ.
The Melco did bring a change to SQ and he was very undecided on it, but he had to send it back to dealer anyway, he left it that he would think about it. That was a month ago, last I heard from him was he’s considering a new NAS with SSD.
Sorry if this post is not helpful, but my buddy’s thinking was remarkably similar to your post.

When i bought the Core it was to put my cd collection on and play through a Muso. It is very simple to use, sounds good…but Naim could and should do a lot better imo.