Crossovers - do parts matter?

I have some limited practical experience and have experimented - on various projects in the past. My own personal opinion regarding speaker crossovers…is use the best well behaved drivers you can and the least number of components possible to achieve what is required … everything is a compromise. Years ago, I took apart a Wharfedale 708 - quite a reasonable speaker at the time. It sounded pretty good - I examined the crossover and it was very compact with quite a poor track arrangement. I spaced out the components on 3mm ply and carefully hard wired everything together. The speaker was so much better cleaner, better imaging etc etc. I have also done something similar with some Kans I am building … and currently testing. About 12 months ago I was after new speakers … and briefly listened to the Dynaudio Special 40 … in store…they sounded petty good. I didn’t go any further as the size was an issue. Recently I watched a tear down of this speaker…and given the price, the parts used were not that great…electrolytic capacitors, budget resistors and some iron core inductors. Have others found improvements using better components (to the same value)? I would like to know your thoughts and experience on this…

Also I note that Naim used to do passive crossovers that worked (I think I am right in saying) between the preamp and the power amp. Was this to allow the network to work at lower voltages…with smaller components…??? Was this a good route to take???

1 Like

My only experience is with my old pair of Mordaunt Short MS310s - a budget bookshelf from the early 90s. I had to replace a tweeter and took the opportunity to hard wire both HF drivers (they used push on connectors beforehand) there was a significant improvement after doing so. I would not be surprised if crossover component quality mattered a lot.