Customer Service in general

Is it just me or does everyone’s skin crawl when after battling the maze of crap you have to go through just to get what you’ve paid for online - they finish with Have a Wonderful Day. I find it so patronising.

1 Like

Yeah, that is annoying. I’ve come accross it a few times.
Companies with good customer service ‘sense’ know how to talk to customers, but that seems to be a rare company policy or mandate thes days.

Well since you ask, I don’t personally find it an issue. In fact I often say “have a great day” myself!

2 Likes

I used to work in customer service for a large automotive manufacturer at their UK HQ.

It was one of the toughest jobs I’ve had, not helped by PR that said how reliable the cars were. I can’t count how many times that was thrown back at the team.

Sadly, I feel cs is at an all time low in many organisations.

Often the staff are not empowered to make decisions and get stuck in a cycle of actually not giving service at all, just defending the company line.

Many organisations, whilst having simple product offers (utility supplies, selling cloths), make life too complicated for themselves and consequently their customers.

How often have you gone into a store and the tills (checkouts) are not staffed, what are they in business for.

In my time in CS we calculated that each letter we responded to, cost £25 (long time ago). It didn’t take too long to realise it was cheaper to satisfy the customer at first contact. Result, happier customer and more likely to return.

The advent of AI in CS will be awful because ultimately when stuff goes wrong, people will want to deal with a person who can actually see/understand their issue.