DAC Options

I have a high-end Olive system: CDS2, 52/SC, 135*4 etc.

I play digital music by means of a USB stick plugged in to an Atom which connects to a unity-gain channel of the 52.

It sounds OK, but even playing a 16/44 file doesn’t get close to a CD through the CDS2.

So how do I achieve CDS2-quality sound from my USB stick?

A secondhand NDX is a possibility, although as I don’t do streaming etc it seems an expensive option.

On the other hand, I expect a DAC-V1 would not be much of an improvement over the Atom. I don’t think they can play straight off a USB stick either.

Anyone have any suggestions?

If you use an usb-stick, an nDac would do the trick. You can simply connect an usb-stick to it with the music and play it. It will also avoid a plethora of network issues.

I have no experience with this, it is just an option I consider for myself too since I listen to a few symphonies only - that’s all.

1 Like

The nDAC is what you want. In the UK, you can pick them up S/H from the usual sources for around a thousand quid (the latest firmware is 4.11.8, but it’s a straightforward update - via a USB stick!).

A versatile bit of kit, RCA/BNC/Optical inputs for any future streamers. USB sticks can be plugged in front and rear (front takes precedence); I’ve even had mine running from an iPod! Only issue is that navigating round the stick is somewhat “primitive” and involves a modicum of guesswork!

Add an XPS or even 555PS for extra audio goodness.

You may find the sound is “darker” than classic Olive kit (I run a CDX into an 82); at first I wasn’t sure I liked it, but now…well, I’ve got used to it - and there’s a good reason why they use the same DAC chips in the CD555 & ND555!

2 Likes

To listen to music off a USB stick, you need a streamer not a DAC. Yes I know Naim streamers always have DACs in them but buying a separate DAC won’t help.