DCS DAC as preamp

Hi, anyone tried using DCS DAC (Rossini or Vivaldi) as preamp, meaning using them as preamp n direct to naim power amp?

SQ difference?

I run my Rossini into a 552 and then 500. Dunc on this forum experimented and did not like his Rossini direct into his Naim amp. Others on the dCS forum have found the same - one gentleman purchased the Allegri+ passive pre and is quite happy using that.

Best
Gregg

1 Like

May i ask then the comparison between ND555+1 x 555ps dr vs rossini with master clock?

I saw one member mentioned the Rossini is better (but didnt state if its w the master clock).

I can only comment on my comparison with the Linn Klimax DS which I have been using since 2011 (/1,/2,/3 versions). IMHO the Rossini with Master Clock is in a different league.

I originally had no intention of replacing the KDS in my 500 system and I purchased the Bartok for use in a headphone only system. When I determined the performance of the Bartok (on a numerical scale) to be a 90-95 vs. the KDS at 100 - but at half the cost of the Linn - I then had the desire to try the Rossini.

The Rossini/Master Clock has now supplanted the KDS in my Naim system and the Linn is relegated to headphone only duties.

Best
Gregg

1 Like

A search of the streaming forum should find a thread of mine on that topic.

Best, BF

How about comparison between Rossini dac + clock vs vivaldi dac standalone?

Cant find any of this comparison. In dcs forum, no real comparison as i am looking for.

To add a bit more to this.
The difference in sound using the built in pre amp and say the 552, is not massively different, but i did find it lost some dynamics and certainly prefer it with. Now this could also be because i have the 500, and the 500/552 are a great pairing, and work so well together.