Distortion on high (piano) notes

I’ve recently got an Atom, which I’m using with B&W 707s2 speakers and a REL TZERO subwoofer.

I had some problems with bass boom that have been sorted by using the bass port plugs supplied with my speakers, but this has necessitated an increase in volume on the Atom overall. I’ve started to notice a fairy ubiquitous distortion on higher notes, particularly from piano (eg Keith Jarrett Munich 2016).

My Atom is usually at a maximum of 45 volume. What’s likely to be going on?

Thanks.

1 Like

Hi Purbs

I have a few years experience with the B&W CM5 S2’s and the CM1’s, the models before your 707’s. I do recognize your problem. Since I have moved on to SBL’s, the issue is gone in my place. Unfortunately, I never solved this issue, and the bass boom fix was not sufficient for me as well since the CM’s still needed to be too far from the wall all the way in the walking path.

Retrospectively, I would try this:

• Ensure that powerleads are as far as possible away from anything carrying a signal.
  • Try to tilt the loudspeakers a bit, just to check that the distortion is not caused by certain reflections in your room (hard walls / glass / mirrors etc)

By the way, I had the same problem with high sopranos.

1 Like

Thanks.

The recording seems fine through my Shure 1540s.

Not sure how amenable Sevenoaks would be to an exchange after a couple of months…

If you can arrange it so the power and speaker cables, or any other cable for that matter, don’t touch whatever the Atom is sitting on and hang free down to the floor it might help, then again it might not but it’s free to try. It did for a CDX2 on Fraim Lite when the piano was ringing too much in the high notes, I hesitate to speculate why? I’ve not played with an Atom though.

1 Like