Favourite B-Sides

I still buy 45’s and own quite a good sized collection (though most are now relegated to the loft)

My favourite thing about 7", 12" and CD singles are the B-Sides little lost gems not released on LP’s.

So here is a thread of favourite B-Sides I’ll start with one that I don’t actually own on vinyl single anymore. The Jam - Butterfly Collector which is the B-Side of Strange Town.

1 Like

B-side to Roll Away The Stone

3 Likes

Sticking with The Jam one of the greatest singles bands.

Liza Radley - B-Side of Start

Great cover too bonus point for the name of the record player.

Demon’s Eye

2 Likes

And again.

Tales From The River Bank B-Side of and immeasurably better than Absolute Beginners

And just one more

Precious B-Side of A Town Called Malice

No wait a minute. When a blind man cries

4 Likes

You’ve got some of my favourite Jam songs there - Tales from the riverbank, Liza Radley, The butterfly collector. A lot of great songs were put out as B sides - things that wouldn’t quite work on the albums.

A great B side is The Anti Nowhere League’s So What, B side to Streets of London.

1 Like

One of the all-time best B-sides has to be on Pink Floyd’s, Meddle.

1 Like

Kill ‘em at the Hot Club Tonite, b side to Skweeze me pleeze me by Slade. An astoundingly good track which so few people have ever heard of.

2 Likes

My second favourite B-side on an album is Led Zeppelin iii. Excellent!

Bookending their career. The Beatles had the BEST B-Sides.

Somebody tell me a better B-Side than “This Boy” - the flipside of “I want to hold your hand” …I’ll wait :relieved: McCartney himself (although it was primarily a Lennon song - and his voice was never better on it) believes it’s one of the great Beatles songs, and regrets it’s lack of prominence.