Fried 250DR?

Just listening to music in my biamped system (Supernait 2 serving highs and 250DR serving lows of B&W 803D3’s) when the low end cut out.

I noticed the 250DR’s display had gone out and so turned it off but in doing so found the unit’s casing to be hot to the touch, almost to the point of it being too hot to touch for more than a second or two.

I suspect this will be a return to Naim job but thought I would ask whether anyone else here has experienced the same?

The amp is just under two years old and connects using Witch Hat Phantom cables. Music was playing at around the 9 o’clock mark.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

Don’t panic. Heat cut-out has probably activated due to the heat (>70C?) and likely over-driving (not uncommon). Have a read of the manual.

Give it about 15 mins and it should return OK.

1 Like

I’ve no experience with bi-amped systems, noting Naim don’t recommend doing this.

My headline observation (post reading some data on the B&Ws) is that they may not be a friendly load for the 250DR. B&Ws are notorious for being very demanding of the amps connected to them i.e. they need higher-power-rated amps, in order to effect proper control.

Thanks HL. 250DR has now indeed righted itself so emergency is now resolved.

I think you’re correct that the 803’s might prefer a higher wattage but the 80 watts of the SN3 and 250DR are both within B&W’s spec’d range.

The SN2 has a biwire output so Naim’s view on biamping seems to have shifted if there were previous reservatons. Thankfully the amps and speakers have played nicely up until now so will keep fingers crossed this wss a one off.

Cheers

Specs are not the full story - far from it.

But - IMO - any speaker which can take out a Naim 250 should be shown the door.
My 250 has never overheated or cut out - since 1985.

5 Likes

Good news – and pleased to hear it appears a one-off.