HD vs UHD TV for SD Material

As some of you may remember I have been cogitating about upgrading my main TV, but have had concerns about my SD material being rendered unwatchable.

I have spent the last couple of months upgrading my business IT and decided to include a new monitor, one thing that always attracts is screen real estate, and so I decided to look at TVs, I have been using an LED 24" for the past six years or so.

I wanted UHD, which means 40"+. Having done some research I have bought a 43" LG UM7400 LED for the grand sum of Ā£299, including a 5 year guarantee.

Why the LG?

1. Price, obviously;
  2. The screen is IPS and so unlikely to suffer burn in;
  3. The response time is 5ms, so no annoying lag; and
  4. It does chroma 4:4:4, which I need for clear text.

My primary use is for programming and office uses, but as it is a Smart TV with streaming clients built in, as well as Netflix and Prime, I decided to have a quick shufty at some SD and 4k content through it.

As I only received the TV yesterday I havenā€™t finished setting things up, but I will post my thoughts in due course.

M

3 Likes

With the current issues I decided to upgrade my work infrastructure, which is at home where I work. This included:

1. A more modern and capable NAS, retaining the older one as a file server;
  2. Upgrading my network to Gigabit;
  3. Setting up a spare bedroom as my office; and
  4. Getting myself a new monitor ā€¦hence the 43" TV.

And ā€¦I am pretty pleased.

The TV is for use primarily as my monitor, but as my eldest is livinh back at home having a third TV may also reduce some friction when I am listening to my HiFi and the two ladies of the house start disputing what should be played on the alternative TV.

So, is the cheap LG any good, either as a monitor OR as a TV?

Yes.

It is a cheap LED IPS screen with 10 bit colour and claiming to be HDR. The latter is unlikely from what I have read as it isnā€™t bright enough, 400 nits.