Hdx cd drive

My hdx cd drive decided not to play any cdi have. I tried to RIP them, and that seems to work, and i usually abort ripping, add i don’t want to rip them.
My background is a medical laser field service engineer and i understand lasers and can do electronic repair.
I know that usually the laser loses its power and toy can up the power to the laser head to get a little more life out, but this didn’t work.
The drive in my hdx is a teac drive.
When you do a search that model is listed as a dvd drive.
I have spare cd dvd writer drives, but i tried 1 and it wouldn’t read, I’d imagine due to having drivers that control the drive.
I don’t want to send this in again, as a year earlier the power supply took a dive and i already paid enough to get that replaced. Unfortunately i didn’t use the cd player at all other then burning a few discs after that and now this.
What are my best options?
Buy the same drive model used or refurbished or possibly find old stock somewhere?
Can i install another drive? What about instructions to install drivers for it?
Or, just send it in and pay several hundred to have a service center do it?
I found a teac dv-156gb-000 and dv-156gb-002.
I would expect the 002 model should plug and play.
Any advice would be great.

If I understand correctly you can rip cds but not play them? Are you sure that the HDX is set to play mode and not rip mode? Go into “system settings” and you will see “rip or play mode”. This can also be changed on the app as well.

One other thing, just a friendly reminder. This forum does not allow members to post about modifications or self repairs to equipment. So be careful as the post could be removed. Good luck.

Maybe @ChrisSU could help. But I doubt it’s possible to change the hard drive without sending it to Naim.