Headphone cable upgrade?

I’ve got a pair of Sennheiser Momentum 4’s winging their way towards me. My intention is to use the supplied cable to hook them up to my mobile phone, but I’m wondering if a not-outrageously-expensive upgrade might be in order.

Recommendations, please.

Amazon show a number of replacement cables, but I have no experience of them.

I would get them and give them a good burn in first.

I have used headphone cable upgrades and they can really alter the performance and character, but you need to get an idea what you want to change to chose well. Want brighter, warmer, smoother, sharper? Different cable choices.

I don’t know your model Sennheiser and what potential they have but at that price point money for a cable upgrade might be better saved and invested in better headphones a bit further down the road.

Bruce

I’ve used CustomCans for a variety of cables for my Utopia and Stellia headphones. I have various differnt cables for different uses. Long for my amp with balanced XLR, regular 3.5mm and 6.35mm and also balanced 2.5mm for my Astel and Kern SP1000 player. You can spec choice of colours for the various cables and end points.

Eg - their Focal page is here:
https://jfunk.org/wpc/product-category/home/cables/focal-headphone-cables/

I am looking at Dragon Audio Cables. I dont own one, but reviews are positive. Maybe someone here can share their experience with that company.

1 Like

I used CustomCans very good indeed.

HanSoundAudio, definitely worth an audition :+1:

Still waiting on delivery, but it’s been really interesting comparing online reviews about the Mo’ 4’s.

Although there’s a high consensus about their performance almost across the board, I’ve noticed that there’s a few with diametrically opposite opinions, which is odd.