How much and how often

Hi all.

The thought hits me periodically, so since I know that everyone has his own mind I chose to hear other people’s opinions.
When I browse the Music Corner forum, not only I see lots of names of bands or records I have never ever heard about - and I’ve been messing up with all kind of music for the last 55 years - but I also learn that, say, some play a records three, four times in a row, others go to sleep at 3 a.m. because a cable has ‘made him/her rediscover his/her music collection’; others collect several editions of the same piece of classical music, as if they actually were different things. Generally speaking, I get a feeling that either the forum is by now populated mainly by millennials or younger, or that a sort of music bulimia has taken over.

‘It took me months to accurately rip and tag my 1500 CD collection’: 1500? If I exclude the friendly and consistent contribution of a fellow member who shares with me interesting things, I’d have issues in selecting 100 CDs from my music library to put them on an SSD. How many have I bought for the wrong reason!: a nice cover, nostalgia, a momentary lapse of reason, professional duty; but how much is the music I really love and listen to?
And, how often?

The thought that hits me is an insoluble impasse: I feel my system is too sophisticated and expensive for the amount of music I listen to (does anyone of you go every night to a concert with a £/$ 80-100 ticket?) but I couldn’t do with a more plain, cheap set because the hungry for good sound would win over me. The Guy In The Sky knows if I have tried: I did with a €200 amp and with a €20,000 system (bought s/h), but the bottom line is that I always end with the 20,000 system and a very moderate need for music.