How to make Roon Tidal sound as good as Native Tidal on NAC-N 272?

Hi guys,

I am a newbie to this hobby and bought my first rig this month.

Proud father to an NAC N-272 connected to a NAP 250DR and have Revel M106 speakers.

Have not turned on my TV for weeks now.

For Roon I have a ROCK setup on an NUC ( Fanless Roon Rock Music Server from InsideTech) as the core and the cheapest endpoint I could find was a Google Chromecast Audio which I hooked up to an ifi iPower supply and a UGREEN ethernet adaptor. 272, Core and Chromecast Audio all directly wired to my router with Audioquest Cinnamon optical cables.

Tidal sounds good through Roon, but when compared to native Tidal on the 272, native Tidal blows it out of the water. Even when Roon is swearing blind that I am getting lossless from my Chromecast Audio with 1st MQA unfold with the Chromecast Audio.

Love the Roon interface, find the Naim app hard to navigate on my iPhone (I donā€™t own an iPad) and sadly no desktop app for my MacBook Pro.

Want to be able to play Roon with as good a sound as native Tidal on the 272 wondered if it is to do with the source?

So my options as I see it:

1. Allo DigiOne Signature Player with two Shanti Power supplies into Optical input on 272
  2. Naim Streamer, like ND5 XS 2 with DIN
  3. A third option that I can not fathom

I would rather option 1 as there is already a DAC in the 272.

By buying a new streamer, I feel that I have two DACs, in the streamer and the 272, which feels wasteful. Plus it is a considerable price saving to go with the Allo DigiOne Signature.

The question is will the Allo DigiOne give me as good sound as Native Tidal, or should I wait a while to save and pony up for an ND5 XS2? Or is there something in my setup that is glaringly obvious that needs to be improved first?

Your help is much appreciated.

Siva