Improve Pro-ject Debut Carbon Evo

Hi all. I got my first turntable and am enjoying it! And, in pursuit of perfection, I am wondering what improvements I could make.

I changed the felt for a cork mat. Not sure that makes a big difference but honestly I didn’t really A/B it against the felt.

I have read about the Acrylic platter. That seems like an option. But I expect that a better cartridge may have more impact. But since I am new to vinyl I thought I ask the wisdom of this helpful crowd.

Gear: Naim New Classic 200 line (no PSU) with Focal Sopra 2.

My suggestion is to ignore your current project turntable and start saving for something on the same level as your amps and speakers. You’re at least looking at a Rega rp8 / Linn lp12 to have something on the same level.

The Project turntable is a fine player - I have it as well - but upgrading at it is basically loosing money on the serious step you need to make to better it.

What you can do in the meantime, is buying cheap old but good vinyl, learn how to clean it properly and enjoy it.

4 Likes

Well that puts me in the 2K to 3K turntable category right? Now I know this is basically unanswerable but how much will this differ in your view?

Please consider that I am also looking at a Rel S510 subwoofer and possibly a Naim PSU. Maybe you can share your thoughts on improvement in relation to such upgrades?

The Project is fine as an entry level TT but really has no place in a nice system such as yours. I’d just grow your record collection and then move to a really good TT. The Rega P8 and P10 are both excellent.

But given you seem to want to improve the electronics it’s worth reflecting on where you want to take things. Do you really want to spend £30 on LPs when you can get a download for £10, or stream as part of a Tidal subscription.