Is my amp supposed to sound like this?

Hi All,

Before I write anything I’d just like to say that I’m new to Naim and am certainly no audiophile, but none the less I’d very much appreciate your help and advice. I currently have a Naim Supernait 3 on home demo and have been running as many different types and genres of tunes through it to get an idea of if it’s for me.

First impressions are that I love it! The build quality, the design, the zing and separation (I kind of get what this means now) when listening to certain tunes is amazing. The issue I have is that when I listen to softer tracks that in my opinion should be more relaxing, the mid to upper base range seems to be punchy and overpowering which to my ears makes them hard to listen to and tiring! To the point where I can only listen to half a dozen or so tracks before I have to have a rest!!

I have this amp plugged into some kef Q7 speaker (which at some point I would like to upgrade) and feed it via analogue outputs from my sonos connect. I am also streaming from either tidal or from my NAS drive that holds my CD collection ripped in lossless format.

Now I know this setup isn’t ideal but my old sony 777ES amp has gone pop and these are my first steps into the Naim world. I understand that I will require a better DAC and maybe also upgrade my streamer, it’s connected to the sonos for now as that is what is in the rest of the house. I suppose my questions are these; is this punchiness/mid upper base forwardness to be expected with my setup as it is? Is this just the Naim sound? Will any of the upgrades I’ve mentioned improve this particular aspect of the sound in my setup and allow me to enjoy these softer tunes in a relaxed manner?