Issue connecting with mesh wifi

I recently updated my home router to a mesh network, but also kept the old router active as I have an integrated modem/router. I can still access my Uniti Core using the old network, but can’t access it with the new mesh network. Any solutions? Thanks!

Make and model of Mesh stuff

It’s an ARRIS SURFBOARD MAX PRO AX1100

I suspect both old and new routers are on separate IP ranges with their own DHCP service running. If you have one router plugged into the other you will have double NAT and 2 isolated network subnets. You need to disable NAT on one device (prob the new mesh kit) and make it a simple bridge to the main internet network, this way both will be on the same network subnet.

Thanks! I’m a complete novice at this, so is there a layman’s guide for how to implement this? I went into the settings on my new router and found a way to convert from dynamic to static. Do I just do this or is it more complicated?

Have you tried plugging the Core into Ethernet port 3 or 4 on the new Arris router?

Hi @Stevem, @Pipdan is right here in that you appear to have two routers running back to back which will create a number of issues and conflicts.

Ideally you need to have just one router on your LAN, probably the easiest way to ensure that is to set up the new Surfboard to function as a network bridge (rather than a router) to your existing modem/router.

You will need the ARRIS SURFboard mAX Manager app on your iOS or Android device to guide you through a complete setup.

Hmm, simple for a network engineer but will be like a foreign language if its not something you work with. I downloaded the instructions for your device, the critical bit will be the operating mode first eluded to on page 13. You are asked what your current network is, if you this wrong then its start again time.

The wording is not very clear and there’s no network diagram to help but best guess i would try

“Gateway with integrated WiFi”