Listening room size

My listening room is 3.4M X 6M, is this regarded as small, medium or large? I ask this question as I’m considering ATC SCM100 speakers, are they going to be an issue as they are large and produce a huge amount of base?

at very low volume, not an issue . If someone responds that it will be fine, i would be very surprised ! Even atc40 can be problematic.
I have the same size of room, around 4X5 m.

I’m no expert, but I got huge (to me) speakers because I have a 10x13 meter room. If I had a smaller room, I’d have saved a fortune by getting muuuuuch smaller speakers that would have been more than adequate. Why buy speakers that “produce a huge amount of base” for a small room?

What speakers?
David

I don’t recall any definition of room sizes in this context. What any individual considers to be a large or small room is subjective, and depends, amongst other things, where you live. In the UK an average size lounge, typically the room used as a listening room, would be something around maybe 13-18m2, so I consider anything smaller than that range to be small. As for large, to me the minimum width comes into it as well, and as you can (and in new houses often do) get corridor-like long rooms only 3m or so wide, which I cannot think of as large, however long they may be. So I think of large as probably greater than 20m2+ with width greater than 3.6m.

It would be interesting to hear others’ views, but useful to annotate with the country concerned to see how much difference that may make.

Focal Sopra IIs.

Our open plan lounge/dining/kitchen is 18m by 5m. Main system (Nova and Totem Forest Signatures) are in a listening zone in the lounge portion, playing across the narrow. The media room is 3.5m by 5m and has a Uniti2 and a Totem Hawk, playing across the narrow. The Hawks are fine in the media room, but the Signatures are too big I find, they need more air to breath. I think care is needed with big speakers in a smaller space.