Mains causing channel imbalance?

I have a persistent channel imbalance issue, system is a ND5Xs2 initially into a Supernait 3, I always felt the sound was constrained within the bounds of the speakers and the sound stage pulled to the left slightly , this was consistent through a change of speakers and addition of Hicap DR and a NaC 282 fronting the SN3. Everything sounded centrally balanced through the headphones so I thought maybe it was the power amp Section of the SN3 causing this, upgraded to a 250 DR so the SN3 no longer being used and the channel imbalance is still there but reversed now pulling to the right. Playing about one evening I reconnected the bare SN3 back in but powered from a socket the other side of the room and no channel imbalance was evident. So think it could be a mains issue, I don’t have dedicated mains but use a Wireworld Matrix power block and wonder whether that could be the culprit? I also have a Nait50 and have no such issues, plugged directly into the same double wall socket as the Matrix Block which powers the ND5XS2, the Nait is fabulous and I would say beats the 282 250 combo so something cant be right. Anyone else experienced anything similar?

Don’t confuse fause with correlation. You changed sockets and the problem went away. But not because you changed sockets. While the problem might be perplexing, mains can’t cause this problem.

You may have to look very carefully at other factors that changed such as nudging interconnects when reaching round the back etc.

[addendum] I take that back. Can you use a mains tester ($20 on Amazon) and confirm that the problem socket has 0v over ground? Mains earth to signal earth pollution could cause signal lift.I’ve seen 7v over earth before. However, both channels ground to the same point so I still suspect mains is not the issue. But curiosity would make me test it anyway.

1 Like