Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab

I’ve been playing a few records from MOFI, they all sound a bit muffled, perhaps muffled might be a bit over the top but I feel they are veiled in some way. My system otherwise on any other vinyl sounds fantastic, detailed, musical etc. I thought it might be me so I have one MOFI Ultra Disc CD, Bridge of Sighs - Robin Trower and this has the same traits. Sounds like it is coming from another room.

Anyone else had this issue? Or am I losing it :slightly_frowning_face:

Tim

I find the MoFi’s have a strong bass but in my system that comes over as a super solid platform for the rest of the music to shine.
I have SRV’s Couldn’t Stand The Weather on One Step and it’s presence in the room is immense. Definitely not veiled.

If you refer to vinyl MOFI, they sound fantastic, specially the 45 rpm . Better vs the original. But expensive.
For MOFI cds, I have no experience.
Are you talking about vinyls or cds?

I’ve bought about 20 Mobile Fidelity Albums over the years but the latest one is the 2 disc 45rpm of Love - Forever Changes it’s absolutely sublime. Over the years since 1968 I’ve bought about a dozen versions including the Forever Changes concert from RFH.
This no doubt surpasses all of them.

Regards,

Martin

2 Likes

Thanks for the collective replies. I think I had better have another listen. Also wondering if I have something slightly out of whack, however everything else sounds really good. For example example I have a copy of Dixie Chicken by Little Feat on Mobile Fidelty on vinyl and also a standard copy on I think Warner Bros label and this seems to have a lot more dynamic range. Strange that I find the same with my only Mobile Fidelity CD as well with exactly the same traits.

Tim