Models

Sorry, not Claudia, Elle etc but ships. I’d like to build a kit of HMS Victory - do any of the modelling fraternity have any suggestions. I’m looking for something that produces a good result but not necessarily 100% realistic (I.e. accepting that some kits will have to make compromises). I don’t mind plastic or wood (possibly a better finish?) - but I am limited to the size I can display, so nothing bigger than about 35 - 40 cm long.

I’m not a beginner but much as I’d like to, spending the rest of my life on the Caldercraft Victory is out on both size and complexity grounds.

As a supplementary question - Occre or Mantua models have been suggested - does anyone have any experience of these?

1 Like

Hi Johns

As a first step have a look on Scalemates, this will let you know what models were produced, you can also download the instructions for most so you can see how detailed they are
Hopefully this will give you a shortlist, then it’s onto the bay to try and find them

Lyndon

I remember a friend at prep school built a model of HMS Victory. IIRC it was an Airfix kit. It took hime ages, but the result was very impressive indeed.

I built the Airfix “HMS Victory” in my early teens……over fifty years ago.

I feel old!

3 Likes

I did wonder about Airfix, I recall their aeroplane kits were always pretty good, but I don’t know what their kits are like now…must check the local shop.

Thanks for the Scalemates tip, I’ll check that as well. I think if I can find a wooden one I’ll go there just because it will make a change from plastic and white metal, but we’ll see.

I don’t think they are in the same league as Caldercraft. IIRC one of my Airfix masts was bent……(or that may have been the Airfix Cutty Sark…… :laughing: :laughing: )

Wooden kit :+1:t2:

Billings Models 1/75 HMS Victory Wooden Boat Kit

1 Like
1 Like

Brill…those were the days, sadly

1 Like

Nice! And inspirational…I’ll start measuring up the garden.

1 Like