More power needed for movies?

Hi there,

I have a Naim Nova with the 80 watts per channel integrated amp matched with Monitor Audio PL200, which are fairly efficient at 90db.

I never had any issues with music and found the amp is more than enough to play louder than I (or my neighbours) can handle without hearing any strain.

As I start to watch more and more movies or TV, I feel I need to really turn the volume up to reach ‘enjoyable’ level but even though it’s loud, I feel it sounds somewhat thin… Like, it has difficulty filling the room, despite having no such issues with music.

Am I right in thinking more power is needed, and would give more scale? Anyone else had this issue before with having plenty for music but somewhat lacking for TV & movies?

Thanks in advance for any advicej

I suspect the signal you’re feeding with may be lacking. What is your source (TV, projector, receiver etc), and what outputs from it are you using? I’m not an expert in feeding such signals to a stereo system, but with that info others may be able to comment.

Having to turn the volume control higher may simply be because the source output level is lower than your music source, and in itself is not an indication of insufficient power available.

My reply was going to be the same as above, if it works fine for music it should work the same for tv viewing, as said I’d be looking at input levels, or a setting somewhere not configured correctly, etc

Not an uncommon problem.

To overcome it, I had to get a small DAC / amp for the TV so that the signal level was the same as the streamer into the amp.

They are not that expensive on Amazon, etc.

DG…

1 Like

The Nova has input trim, which can be used to balance levels between sources. The optimum way to connect is probably via optical from the TV, with trim used on the Nova digital input.

Make sure the TV is properly configured to downmix to stereo PCM and not looking for a Blutooth sub.