MQA in Naim

Hello out there
Sorry if it has been described before and I now need to have it spelled out.
I’m new to it and I get a bit confused in all this Streaming jungle. Is my Nac 272 MQA compatible? I have TIDAL on trial in HI-FI quality at the moment.
Also, I read about Qobuz apparently offering MQA playback, and as far as I can see Naim does not have a partnership with Qobuz, but I think I can get around that if I use some kind of server connection. I would like to get the highest quality…
… Peter

Naim does not support MQA in any of their products. Qobuz doesn’t have MQA content, they use flac for their hi res files.

2 Likes

No Naim streamers support MQA.

If you have the Tidal Hifi subscription you will get the best current quality on Naim. It will fall back to CD quality FLAC. Tidal Hifi Plus is currently overkill as you cannot use those features without extra hardware.

Qobuz on the other hand streams in hi res FLAC so you can get a higher stream quality from Qobuz, although whether that makes a difference to your ears is the question.

BUT there is talk about Tidal introducing hi res FLAC as MQA has gone into administration.

So in summary either get either:

1. Tidal Hifi for CD quality lossless
  2. Qobuz for hi res lossless
1 Like

However, IIUC the first generation Naim streamers - including 272 - may not be able to cope with hi res online streaming (though they can from your own local storage). It is worth the OP reading the following thread from this link onwards:
Is it time for Tidal... Again - #19 by Slamdam

As for the original question, to the OP: why do you want MQA? It was a solution to a problem that has largely ceased to exist (bandwidth), and which IIUC is not bitperfect hi res, and makes claims that I am not sure are wholly realisable.

2 Likes

Oh dear, sorry did not know this. Was answering from Uniti world knowledge.

1 Like

MQA is in administration.
Don’t waste your time.

3 Likes

Hi Kryptos

Thank you for your reply.