NAC 152XS Sub out on 2.1 System

This may have been asked before but I have been unable to find it. I am adding an active sub to my current system using the low level RCA inputs, taken from the sub out on the NAC152XS. The sub has a LFE setting, which is either in or out. The instructions suggest the out position is for AV amps only, but the sound is very different. Has anyone set this up before, and if so is the sub output of the NAC ‘processed’ similar to an AV amp? Basically, LFE in or out?

Any advice would be really helpful.

Many thanks

I would imagine that this setting is only for the LFE (Low Frequency Effects) .1 channel from a proper multichannel processor.

The sub outs on the 152 provide the full frequency range. You should connect them (both left and right) to the pair of phono sockets on the sub. LFE is not relevant with your 152.

Thanks for the replies, so is that LFE on or off on the sub?

Sorry if that sounds dumb, I’m new to this!

Thanks

Graham

What do the instructions say? What is the sub in question?

Both very good questions…The sub is a BK Electrics XLS200 DF. The instructions say:-

*Figure 2. Shows a diagram on how to connect the low level input. Using the supplied RCA to RCA interconnect, plug one end into the XLS200 low level input and the other end into the dedicated sub output on your amplifier or processor. If a sub out is not available then you can use a spare set of pre-amp outputs. If you only have a single sub woofer output socket on your equipment, then connect up using one of the pairs of leads (red to red). In this instance use the (Mono) input on your XLS200 sub.

When using a source on the low level input that has built in bass management ( AV Processors) then you can switch the Filter Bypass Switch to the Out position. Your processor will manage the bass frequencies on the low level and the XLS200 will manage the bass frequencies on the High Level Input