Nail atom + tidal

Tidal just offered me master streaming for 1.99 a month for 4 mths … just to add to my Netflix …amazon prime … Spotify & which magazine account draining subscriptions I thought why not ?
So … the only way I can stream Tidal to my atom is chrome cast ? and Bluetooth ? … I’m trying to skip the Naim / tidal app and just use Tidal … this is where I get confused …the app will only show that I’m streaming tidal HIFI when I’m paying for master ( orange ) . It’s very hit n miss and for a system that cost me over 4000 I’m not getting what I shd

As I type this I’m listening to Tidal on my 600 quid Yamaha av amp in what tidal say is Master quality which all in is a £ 1200.00 system … it’s all a bit confusing .

ALSO … I have picked a lot of brains about certain issues with my atom on the forum without me giving many answers as I’m still learning … but I’d like to Thku all … when I know what I’m doing I’ll be more than happy to help the newbies

Naim streamers don’t support MQA, so Tidal will automatically send a 16/44.1 stream instead when it detects that it’s connecting to a non-MQA device. Personally I find MQA to sound a little unnatural even when I’ve tried it with a DAC that has full MQA support, and when I had a Tidal account I chose to turn it off and use the regular !6/44.1 stream instead.
If you want proper Hi-Res streaming, try Qobuz, which has lots of lossless 24 bit material available, and once the cheap trial periods are over, is cheaper than Tidal too.

1 Like

So my 6 year old Yamaha AV supports tidal better than my Atom ? … ok thx Chris …

I believe TIDAL masters streams and uses MQA which Naim does not support. So with the ATOM you will be able to stream CD quality 44.1/16 only from TIDAL. I use Qobuz and can stream up to 192/24 using their Hi-Res subscription. In the US they charge $14.99 a month but recently offered 12 months of Hi-Res for a one time payment of $149.90.