Naim NAP100 usefull upgrade?

Hello,

I Own a Naim Unitiqute 1 and this one is connected to a pair of Epos ES-11

Im thinking of upgrading to the Naim NAP 100
Is this an usefull upgrade?

Regards Joris

It can be if your speakers require a bit more power, I had a Unitiqute2 and added a Nap100 which worked well for me. I have no personal experience of your speakers but from a quick google check at the specs maybe a Nap100 would be a good addition, obviously if you can find a friendly dealer to let you try would be a bonus.

I can buy a second hand one for euro 425

Good price.

Welcome along Joris.

If you want to open up the potential of the UQ2 to work with a greater range of speakers that require a little more power amp control (Dynaudio for example), then adding a NAP would be a good move, with provisos…

If you can audition the NAP100 with your UQ2, and your speakers prior to purchase, then I would do so. Personally, when I had a dealer demo of adding power amps to my UQ2 last year - a 2nd hand NAP100, and then NAP250 (non DR), I experienced only a marginal, subtle improvement. So, unless you are driving inefficient speakers that are a difficult load, say in a large listening room, then the UQ2 is surprisingly capable on its own. If you intend to use the proposed NAP as a stepping stone to Naim separates then fine, but I’d go for a NAP200 (to power the pre) over the 100 if this was the case. Consider your intended end point.

As my speakers are pretty efficient the UQ2 can drive them to ear bleeding levels in my small listening room, so I decided to hold onto the cash for the time being and then a little later, bought a turntable instead!

A Guy I know owns a hifi store, he says that it Will be a worthy upgrade
This bevause the unitiqute has not to deliver power which benefits the pre-amp and the streaming section