Naim Uniti Atom distortion with B&W 600 bookshelf speakers

Hi All,

I’m new to higher end audio and need some help. I’m streaming from a Uniti Atom (which I love) to B&W 600 series bookshelf speakers. Basically, the speakers sound great (streaming lossless music through Tidal) until pushed beyond 60% volume level and then begin to distort heavily. The speakers are rated up to 120w. The Atom puts out a max of 40w. Is it too simple to conclude that the distortion must be coming from the Atom, e.g. the sound gets dirtier as the amp gets pushed harder? Interestingly, I play vinyl though a phono preamp to the analogue input and get much cleaner sound at higher volumes than the streaming side. Help!

-Doug

Perhaps someone can comment, on whether these speakers are power hungry or inefficient.

That might explain your reports… :thinking:

1 Like

Hi Doug
Is your Atom connected to the net with WiFi or wired? I use a wired connection to my
Atom and my speakers are Focal Aria 926 and I have no distortion even when pushed quite hard streaming 75, 80% of volume with no distortion

1 Like

You are probably pushing the Atom too hard, and it’s clipping. More speakers are destroyed by underpowered amplifiers being driven too hard than by powerful amplifiers working within their comfort zone.

1 Like

What are these speakers stood on ?

1 Like

Thx for responding. It’s connected directly to my router.

Thx for responding. They are directly on a non adjustable bookshelf. It’s a very stable built-in and probably not prone to resonate but easy to test.
-Doug

Thx for responding. That was my first thought, but I’m wondering why I get better results via my phono pre-amp and analog input?
-Doug

They really need to be on proper stands. This may well be your problem.

1 Like