Naim Uniti Nova - worth it?

Don’t know if anyone can proffer some advice? After a house move and then renovation work I have been without my main Hi Fi for nearly two years now so chomping at the bit to get it all re-set up! However I am looking to add streaming to the system and also perhaps ripping my cd collection for convenience? At present my system comprises of all older ex demo/pre-used Roksan equipment being a Xerxes turntable (I still want to play vinyl), Caspian Cd player, Caspian Integrated & Power Amps together with Electrocompiniat Phono stage & Stax Basik headphones. Whilst happy with the sound from the Roksan I know my wife would prefer the convenience of a one box system and someone suggested the Naim Nova albeit it appears rather costly? I just wonder what general thoughts out there were about it and how user friendly it is? (I am not good with IT!) and really whether it would be a worthwhile upgrade/change?

I have the Uniti Star, which is a one box solution (well except for the Linn and head amp), with the Nova you need to get a Core if you want to rip high quality wav files. I am really happy with it and think it is great value for money. I did listen to both the Nova and Star together, the Nova was better but I personally did not feel the additional cost of the Core was justifiable for me.

You don’t necessarily need a core though, it’s costly plus you still need to buy a drive for it, there’s other solutions such as just attaching a usb drive or in my case I have an Innuos Zen mini with my Nova that I got from my dealer for the same price as an SSD for a Core! Works perfectly and along with Tidal and a vinyl deck I’m sorted. The Nova is an excellent one box solution but pricey for what a it is.

1 Like