Naim Unitiserve

Hi all
I’ve brought a Unitiserve recived a lot of CD’s and thought I put them on naim’s unitisserve hard drive, can’t get it to play I’ve plugged The monitor mouse and keyboard. Have menu on the Pc, tried digital 1,2,3 plugged the unitiserve into my naim NDX BT
Maybe I have to plug it strait into the 252 I was thinking that the unitiserve would simply pass through the NDX BT
No idea what to do know :thinking: bit disappointed thought I would be playing ripped CD’s by now

The Unitiserve manual explains quite comprehensively how it works, how to control it and connect it.

Hi Burg, did you receive a copy of the manual with it?
If not, with a little searching you should find it available for download.
I would definitely recommend it.

I am no expert, but I believe there are two ways to play music on the Unitiserve.

One is to use your NDX, via the Focal/Naim app, in uPnP mode. Browse the Unitiserve library and play from there.
In this way, the Unitiserve is sending the music over your home network, to the NDX which is also on your home network.

The second method is to use the digital output from the Unitiserve, connecting it via a digital coaxial cable (such as a Naim DC1 cable) into a digital “in” socket on the NDX.
Using this method, the music would be accessed, browsed and played from either the keyboard/monitor (if used) or the Naim nServe app. This app is only available on Apple IOS devices.

I hope this might help to get you started!

Im using the TosLink, mouse, Monitor are connected but still no sound from the NDX BT from digital 1,2,or 3 :thinking:

Manual doesn’t cover the Input from the NDX I don’t no if the digital input should moved to a stable of an unstable source, currently set as No

Do you have an iPhone, iPad or Mac computer? If so , load the Naim N-Serve app and it should find your Unitiserve over your home network. This is how you would normally control it. For Windows computers it’s the Desktop Client.