Nait 5si inconsistent sound and build

Hi - this is my first time on the Naim forum and would be great to get some input from some experienced heads.

I’ve recently bought my first Naim, a Nait 5si and experiencing some inconsistent performance with it. I’ve had it powered up for around 8 days and it’s had around 50 hours of music played through it so far. Within the first few hours the sound was very expansive and detailed with an airy performance but reasonably dynamic. With a farily large soundstage and high headspace it had excellent detail across the higher frequencies and although low frequencies are clear they’re not always present. Also, there is generally a large hole at the centre of the soundstage where things get a little muddled and sink into the background. All standard stuff I felt for a new bit of kit and running it in.

But then things started getting a little strange. I noticed that the sound was becoming very flat, with a lack detail across the board. The only stand out was around the edges of the performance, cymbals, high hats - but everything else just became very flat. Bass was lacking, detail on strings and voices sounded awful.

I thought it maybe the speakers, Dynaudio Emit M20’s - so I disconnected everything, repositioned the speakers and tried again. Still the same, flat, uninvolving sound.

I then swapped out the amp for my Rega Elex-R and the difference was huge. Detail, dynamics, a smaller soundstage breadth wise but foreground to background was marked - performances were now in the room. Id kind of expect this with certain types of music, dance, metal, rock etc but it was with everything. Even Classical and Jazz suddenly seemed much more expansive than the Naim. At this point I’ve felt confused, as tracks I played early on with the Naim sounded a bit strangulated and confined, and I’d already heard them be expansive and expressive, some vinyl performances were wonderful with the Naim and now they felt flat and dull.