Nait xs upgrade to Nap200/nac 202 or supernait 2

I currently have a Nait xs with stageline phono. Considering an upgrade on the used market to a supernait 2 or nap 200/nac 202 separates. Wondering if anyone has experience with these units and can comment on the benefits of each compared to Nait xs. Thanks in advance.

IMHO, SN2 all the way. I’ve had extensive experience with all of the above, save that I had an XS2 vs XS. Funny, though, I still to this day have quite fond memories and a soft spot for the XS series. It does a myriad of things well; even helped me truly understand the whole flat-earth idea. That beauty has drive and a fun factor that is difficult to parse, but it’s unquestionably present. There are even those fora-wide that would prefer the XS over a SN. I can honestly see where they’re coming from…but ‘at the end of the day’ the SN2 is a better Integrated; couple that with the fact that there is an inherent and genuine upgrade path that takes it to stratospheric heights by comparison.
As for separates, with those in particular, I think you’d have to move even beyond that to get to the enjoyment level of a SN2. Many might vehemently disagree, but that’s what I have concluded in three separate environments. Separates are what I strive to have, especially when there’s such outstanding choices out there…but for a price. The SN2 is already expensive enough (at least for me), and may prove it’s all you’ll need for years to come until curiosity and/or upgraditis sets in. It hasn’t for me, which speaks volumes in the realm of amplification. The XS, I feel, was always Naim’s true Integrated sweet spot in terms of performance and value, but the SN2 is a crowning achievement. Separates, for me, will always keep me wondering, ‘what if…?’

5 Likes

Having gone from a Nait XS 2 to the SN 2 I can state that I thought it was a very nice uplift and I am quite happy with my four box system.