nDAC with 555PS DR or 555PS

After having my nDAC/555PS-DR combo for 11 years, a chance came to get a second hand 555 non DR from 2006. After being serviced it finally arrived and had replaced its younger brother……forever!

5 Likes

Interesting… can you explain the difference you perceived switching from DR to non DR?

1 Like

Hmmm, that is difficult for me, i am not very good at this, but let me try. More natural sound, flowing effortlessly. Less listening fatigue. There is also something else. When playing guitar, classical or electric, the DR somehow over-amplifies the front/attack of the signal. Initially this may sound like more depth, but is not natural (i used to play classical guitar for some years).

5 Likes

I agree the non DR is much better in musicality ,groove and balance in the sound.

4 Likes

Everytime DR or not comes up it to me seems like DR is technically better but non DR is the long term winner focusing more on music and keeping it together more than anything else. It’s pretty often you read about people fighting DR and really want it to be great. I never read about fights with non DR :man_shrugging:

I wonder how my NDS would sound with a non DR 555PS.

2 Likes

i would consider buying an NDS, use none dr on the analogue side and dr on the digital side…its a cracking combo! makes me wonder how much better an nd555 would be…i bet its not that much better with one psu.

2 Likes

if you have a dr on your nds, if you can try a none dr on the analogue side…its ultra spesh (im sort of repeating myself on this post i know)

2 Likes

Oh no not again. Must resist more boxes! :skull_and_crossbones:

1 Like

mate honestly…for the price, get another box…its only one moreeeeeee!haha

Just had a look at your system…you got loadsssss of boxes, youll hardly notice

1 Like

is this the same with say supercap and 552 i wonder?