NDX2+XPSDr and Focal Utopia Still Evolving after 250 hours

I have new gear. NDX2, XPSDr, Focal Utopia, Cardas Clear Beyond Headphone Cable. Using the SN3. Even after 250 hours the SQ and tonal balance continues to evolve. Upgraded from the ND5XS2. My former streamer was warmer after the same number of hours. Bass is tighter and more pitch defined with the NDX2. Also I am finding that the NDX2 can more deftly articulate streaming album differences. The good albums sound better and the not so good ones sound worse than with the ND5XS2. Lastly I am finding that all HIGH RES is not created equal. The ND5XS2 seemed to gloss over differences that the NDX2 allows to come through.

Is this how it should be? I am new to Naim since October 23, so I don’t quite know what to expect.

2 Likes

As you’ve said, the system is still evolving and bedding in.

What I did with mine, including the headphones is to play a radio station 24/7 on a low volume even when you’re not listening to it.

With regard to HiRes, a lot depends as to how it was recorded in the first place. Some records sound better than others.

All I can suggest, is continue with it and enjoy the music. It will click into place.

DG…

1 Like

The NDX2 is more resolving than the ND5 so you are hearing a lot more of what’s actually there - both good and bad whereas the ND5 was masking a lot of info. I had a similar experience going from a Nova to NDX2 but it will settle plus your hearing / brain will adapt over time - just be patient. There are a lot of variations of SQ of hi res recordings so what you’re experiencing is fairly normal and again the NDX2 is merely exposing this.

2 Likes

What you are highlighting is often a problem, that the more expensive the equipment the more it shows up the defects

best wishes

Ian

2 Likes