Oak Unit and Bass

Could anyone with a good understanding of room acoustics explain to me please why removal of a big piece of Oak furniture (TV unit) from between the speakers makes such a profound difference to the tautness, tightness ans hardness of bass.

The unit was 150cm wide and weighed £50KG. Solid oak. Hefty piece of furniture. Replaced by a new trendy lighweight (10kg) wood bench with thin metal legs. Possibly to be replaced with a Fraim or two.

Music had a lot more depth, slam before. Sounding substantial and firm. Like a cricket ball hitting a bat. Now the music feels softer and lighter. Like a softer ball hitting a bat. Music also less clear.

I’m thinking of moving from SN2 to 282/250DR so hoping I get all the tautness back with that move.

Was a shock after removal!

Cheers
Adam

I’m no expert but any sizable object in the room will have an effect on the room acoustics. Also we’re your electronics on the unit?

Your sound stage starts with getting your speakers set in a close to perfect triangle with your listening position at the peak. Getting your voicing in the center by moving your speakers side to side starts the process, then you get the bass by moving them closer or further from the back wall, then the imaging and fine tuning with toe in. But most aspects of PRaT, and those details of clarity, delivery, and the state of NIRVANA sound come from the location between the speakers.
This is why manufacturers say to ensure the face of the speaker must be X distance forward of any object between them, like a fireplace hearth, cabinet etc. when starting your set up process. Your sound stage should be more open now. Typically, a dealer will have a nice fake plant in between to take up a little of the resonance from the high, mids and low frequencies, and tone them down like a sound trap or panel.

Scott

Hi no they were on a rack to the left of the speakers. Cheers