Old CB's

So I’m an audio noob, old roommate left these behind years ago, and I had no clue what I was sitting on. Anyways, I have no clue where to start with these or if I could even afford to get them proper. They’re in a little rough shape, different dials and speaker jacks I believe. I know they power on, but don’t have cords or even know how to set them up to test. Is this a route an audio noob should go down or should I find a better home and something more simple for myself lol

What you have there is a NAC42 pre-amp, a NAP110 power amp, and a SNAPS power supply. To connect it all together you would need a pair of SNAIC4s and a pair of IEC power leads.

Note that it appears the NAC42 has been slightly modified, so I would be cautious there. It seems someone has fitted a pair of Fisher sockets for the Phono input, another pair of Fisher sockets for I’m not sure what, and another DIN, which appears to be an input DIN5. With that in mind it’s probably best to have them looked over by a local Naim dealer to see what’s what.

2 Likes

Thank you for the response! When you say local Naim dealer…like a retailer that’s listed on the site or a focal by Naim store?

I reckon any established Naim dealer should be able to give them a look over and let you know (a) whether they work and are safe, and (b) what your options are with regard to getting them running.

The Fisher sockets on the phono input would probably be best removed and replaced by RCA Phonos - the Fishers were only used by one or two high end brands (IIRC, Mark Levinson was one such) back in the early '80s and, while great connectors, are hard to find and a pain if you wish to connect anything else. It will be worth checking what cards are fitted there too. I don’t know what else has been done with regard to the odd DIN and the other Fishers, so that would need investigation and possible rectification back to standard.