Perfect pitch

According to hot spot questioners. Those who have an ability to match open notes with an open note. Or in hearing a note and then replaying in such same key have intrinsically a better understanding of enjoying listening to music.

Possibly, but music covers a wide spectrum, including the experience of rhythm and texture, as well as tonal relationships such as melodies and chords… therefore one would need to extend the hypothesis such that those with a good sense of rhythm, or be effective in identifying patterns in nature would enjoy music more than those who don’t… which indeed may be the case.

2 Likes

I have perfect pitch but I wouldn’t say that it means that I enjoy music more as a consequence. Understanding of keys maybe. Interestingly though I was always weak on the rhythm front unless melody was involved.

I studied piano to grade 8 and always found the aural tests a challenge.

There were 2 tests as I recall. One whereby they played a short piece of music on the piano and you were asked to sing it back. I found it easier to play the same thing back on the piano and would just go up and play without being given a starting note. This I could do pitch perfect and in time every time. Whilst I don’t play these days if somebody played any key on a piano I could walk up and play the same key without seeing which note they pressed, weird really!

The other test was that they would play you a tune and you had to clap back the rhythm. For this I was hopeless and it would always average my mark down! I would normally be lost after a few bars. Taking the melody out for me was a big no no.

Having perfect pitch isn’t all good. If I hear something played it the wrong key it grates, it doesn’t have to be proper music, something like ‘happy birthday’ sounds wrong to me if not sung in the correct key.

1 Like