Replace Sony HAP-Z1ES?

Absolute newbie here, and not sure whether this question belongs in the hi-fi or streaming section.

I have a Cambridge Audio Topaz SR20, the straight stereo receiver, driving a couple Golden Ear Triton 7s. I am feeding it analog input from my Sony HAP-Z1ES. The Sony is a little old now, not being updated or supported anymore, and beginning to behave quirky. While it holds much of my music, I am not adding more to it, and I use it almost entirely for streaming audio. I love that its app has allowed me to add SomaFM channels, other TuneIn sources, Spotify. SomaFM sounds fabulous through this system.

If I have to replace it, I want something that would afford the same level of streaming quality or better, and let me add the channels and sources that I am used to listening to. I am such a newbie that I don’t know if I there is NAIM streaming product that I can simply replace the Sony with. Advice would be so much appreciated.

1 Like

Dear Uptownrocker, welcome to the Forum.

Naim make a few streamers which you can see on the website, but one possibility would be to use an Atom HE as a streaming source. The Atom RCA preamp outs can be connected to one of the pairs of analogue inputs on your Cambridge amp, balance the volume on the Atom against the Cambridge tuner or another line input, and off you go. I’ve done this with my own Atom HE (I don’t even have headphones - I use it as a streaming preamp). The Atom HE is something of a bargain in Naim terms.

You can later switch the Cambridge receiver to a Naim power amp, say a used NAP 250, and that would be a great way into the Naim family.

V best,

ADRIAN

3 Likes

There’s always the brand new Cambridge audio streamer; the cxn100.

Thats always so funny about this forum; the topic starter is asking for advice on the streaming side and people recommend a power amp in the end :wink:

1 Like

Haha true. Yet any system with a measly power amp will be useless.

1 Like