Running shoes - what are you using?

I know this is a very personal thing, but what are you using at the moment?

Looking for something new to add to my rotation, as a my Nike Pegasus and New Balance (forget the model) are getting a little tired, and for obvious reasons I’ve not been able to go anywhere to try anything on for fit, so it looks like the mail order route to try before I buy.

I’m thinking Hoka One One, perhaps Brooks Ghost 13 or Asics Glideride - those models have caught my eye… Anyone using these shoes? Comments and observations about sizing fit most welcome?

I’ve been using Mizuno for a few years. They have a range of support types and fit well.

3 Likes

Never tried Mizuno, so will add them to the list to research.

Brooks Adrenaline wider fit.

3 Likes

Brooks Ghost 13 as running and daily. Currently the Ghost 13 Gortex but basic Ghosts during less inclement weather (the vortex Ghosts are like a hybrid running/hiking shoe). Most comfortable shoes I’ve ever owned.

1 Like

Brooks are certainly high on the list I have to admit, and I’m also really curious about the supposed marsh mellow protective cushioning of the Hoka too, esp getting older and wanting to protect the joints. Do the Brooks fit true to size?

Probably depends on how much arch support you need (hope I’m not telling you how to suck eggs here) by trying the wet footprint test.

After that it’s pretty much personal preference as to fit, comfort and colour as some can be quite bright. At the moment I have Brooks Ravenna, Asics Gel Cumulus and Adidas Adizero Tempo and I have a medium arch. However I am not using any of them at the moment 'cos I’m crocked (but that’s not a reflection on the shoes!) My choice is usually informed by which are on offer at the time.

4 Likes

ASICS Nimbus for the last eight years. Switched from New Balance and never looked back.

2 Likes