S1 passive

There are some that believe a passive preamp, such as those from Townshend or Music First, are the finest as they ‘add nothing’. Then at the extreme end there is a pre like the S1 which contains a staggeringly complicated range of electronics.

I just don’t understand how those to views can be so completely different. I can get on board with the idea of a passive…how can £60k be spent on something like a preamp without that preamp producing colour? Or perhaps it’s the colour that is attractive…but then, that’s an awfully protracted way of muddying the signal.

Just after some learned views, and whether others can understand what I’m driving at. I should point out that I have very little technical knowledge, and maybe that’s the problem.

But some on the Forum have explicitly found source into power direct the best way to listen, such as Chord DACs into power amps, in lieu of pre amps such as the 552.

What is the Statement doing?

2 Likes

It’s an interesting question. I think it’s easy to understand the role of a source/DAC/power amp but a pre-amp not so much. I understand that it’s important and is probably largely responsible for any sound signature/manipulation applied. I’ll be following to find out.

3 Likes

Yes i have often mused over the amount of electronics in the way of the Signal in many high end pre-amps that sound so good……be interested to see what people have to say.

Well the argument is very close to passive versus active crossovers.

The components in a preamp do require current to operate. Whether that is derived from the audio signal or supplied as a bias current (active) is a fundamental design decision.

Preamps perform various functions beyond switching and gain. Bandwidth limiting for input to a power amp is effectively a crossover circuit.